Little Goodbyes

“I’m gonna miss you, ya know,” he says as I lean against the door. “Ain’t nobody as nice as you.”

“I’m gonna miss you, too. I’ll write you letters.” My words are rushed and my voice is higher than normal. I force a smile. I don’t want him to think I don’t care.

“You be careful.”

He watches me the entire way as I walk across the dark parking lot to my car, just like he’s done every night. He sits down when he sees that I’m in my car safely. I see him peering through the small glass window as I start my car and drive off.

 

 

Goodbyes have always been hard for me.

 

 

One thought on “Little Goodbyes

Leave a Reply

